2010 F1 Entry List Roundup

The last few weeks have seen a flurry of announcements of driver movements and other changes within teams for the 2010 Formula 1 season, including the first real presentations from some of the new teams.

I thought it would be a good idea to keep a note of what has been announced up to the Christmas break. For the moment I am assuming the Mercedes / Petronas deal (and wow where did that come from?) is the last announcement for 2009. The best format for this seems to be a table rather than a really long write-up, so I’ll list the entrant name, then the constructor, engine and chassis, followed by the race and test drivers.

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
McLaren Mercedes MP4-25
1. Jenson Button 2. Lewis Hamilton T: tbc
Mercedes GP
Mercedes Mercedes tbc
3. Nico Rosberg 4. tbc T: tbc
Red Bull Racing
Red Bull Renault RB6
5. Sebastian Vettel 6. Mark Webber T: tbc
Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
Ferrari Ferrari tbc
7. Felipe Massa 8. Fernando Alonso T: G.Fisichella
AT&T Williams
Williams Cosworth FW32
9. Rubens Barrichello 10. Nico Hülkenberg T: tbc
Renault F1 Team
Renault Renault R30
11. Robert Kubica 12. tbc T: tbc
Force India F1 Team
Force India Mercedes VJM03
14. Adrian Sutil 15. Vitantonio Liuzzi T: tbc
Scuderia Toro Rosso
STR Ferrari STR5
16. Sebastien Buemi 17. tbc T: tbc
Lotus F1 Racing
Lotus Cosworth tbc
18. Jarno Trulli 19. Heikki Kovalainen T: F.Fauzy
Campos Meta 1
Campos Dallara Cosworth tbc
20. tbc 21. Bruno Senna T: tbc
US F1 Team
US F1 Cosworth tbc
22. tbc 23. tbc T: tbc
Virgin Racing
Virgin Cosworth VR-01
24. Timo Glock 25. Lucas di Grassi T: A.Parente, L.Razia
Sauber Ferrari C29
26. Kamui Kobayashi 27. tbc T: tbc

– This only covers what has been announced not what has been rumoured, nor deals with conditions (such as Lopez at USF1 which depends on raising a budget).
– Jaime Alguersuari is likely to retain the STR seat.
– Lotus F1 Racing is operated by 1Malaysia F1 Team.
– The Renault team is now 75%-owned by Genii Capital.
– Car number allocations remain fluid until March. #13 is not used.
– For the first time in years we have the return of the famous 26 and 27!

I’m really pleased to see Sauber back in their original guise, complete with ‘C’ designation for the chassis. I’m also pleased to see Cosworth on the grid again! Let’s hope they can regroup, and the new teams can do a respectable job over the coming years.

Here is the 2010 Calendar:

14-Mar Sakhir, Bahrain
28-Mar Melbourne, Australia
04-Apr Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
18-Apr Shanghai, China
09-May Barcelona, Spain
16-May Monaco
30-May Istanbul, Turkey
13-Jun Montreal, Canada
27-Jun Valencia, Spain (European GP)
11-Jul Silverstone, Britain
25-Jul Hockenheim, Germany
01-Aug Budapest, Hungary
29-Aug Spa, Belgium
12-Sep Monza, Italy
26-Sep Singapore
10-Oct Suzuka, Japan
24-Oct Korea*
07-Nov Sao Paulo, Brazil
14-Nov Abu Dhabi

* pending circuit homologation

I will post updated lists throughout January and February as more is released. I am tempted to do the same for IndyCar and GP2, would that be interesting to people? I am much less sure what has been completely confirmed in either of those but I am willing to try and find out.


One thought on “2010 F1 Entry List Roundup”

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: